Yesterday was my birthday, and it was absolutely wonderful. It actually started being wonderful this past weekend when Mike COMPLETELY surprised me with (1) a new point and shoot camera, and (2) a surprise birthday party! He had Hay and Kris take me out to the beach while he set everything up, and I was completely thrown through a loop and surprised when I came home to tons of friends and tons of FLOWERS! Mike had everyone bring plants as gifts so that we can start gardening, which I cannot wait to do.

Garden Party!

And so, good start to the celebrating. :) At midnight on May 19th, I celebrated the arrival of my birthday with my husband and the Birthday Hamster… I would upload the video of it but I don’t know how. Check facebook for it instead. :)

When I got to work later that morning, I found flowers and a tiara on my desk – my sweet coworkers handed me new adornments every hour:

Birthday Hamster accompanied me to work, and through pictures from the rest of the day, we’ll share his adventures and mine.

Birthday Hamster with the beautiful lilies Debbie gave me:

Birthday Hamster calling some friends while I worked…

Smelled the flowers…

Checked facebook…

Discovered my secret snack stash…

Met my duck…

Then Kristen came to visit:

Birthday Hamster made a mess of her wheat thins…

Kristen scolded him for that.

So he stole one of my Little Debbies cake packs instead…

Then promptly got stuck in the filing cabinet:

And then I got a boa to add to my wardrobe.

Awhile later, I decided to make my rounds in order to look for Mike and show him my attire. Birthday Hamster came along. We checked Mike’s cube, but Mike wasn’t there…

We checked the control room, but Mike wasn’t there…

We looked over the balcony at the lighting board, but Mike wasn’t there either!

(At this point, when we shared this adventure with our friend Jasara, she pointed out that Birthday Hamster’s adventure was starting to sound quite like a children’s story.) Where was Mike?

We didn’t find Mike till the end of the day. Birthday Hamster and I were very happy to be reunited with him, and we all were also quite excited about going to Melting Pot!

Mike even let Birthday Hamster drive.

Then, as Birthday Hamster took a nap in my purse, Mike and I celebrated my birthday with cheese and chocolate fondue at Melting Pot!

We spent some time in Barnes and Noble before we met everyone at the movie theater…

And then went and saw Date Night with Kris and her friend Colleen, Haley, and Lee!

Birthday Hamster woke up in time to watch the commercials before the movie…

And he found two pretty girls to sit with.

After the movie we left the theater. I took a picture of clouds I thought looked neat. :) The camera quality is phenomenal considering it determines the type of photo being taken.

I got to end the night chatting with Mike and Jasara, which was relaxing and just such a nice time.

Such a wonderful, wonderful birthday!

