I love to read.  I’ve said it before.  I will probably say it again.  It is a wonderfully relaxing activity for me.  I feel happy after I’ve had time to sit and read.

My problem is that I am always reading a book and also always finding new books to read.  Therefore, I have a number of unread books on my bookshelves (due mainly to the fact that once I love a book or series, I read it over and over and never get to the new ones), and a small pile of books on my nightstand with bookmarks in them all.  I try to split my time evenly among these books, because in the past I’ve tried to read multiple books and as I get sucked into one, I forget what the others are about and lose interest.

Anyway, here are the books I am plowing through right now, and before those, 2 books that I just finished but can’t resist mentioning:

Choosing to Cheat: Who Wins when Family and Work Collide? by Andy Stanley: This book discusses the fact that we always cheat something when we make a choice (ex. cheating our stomach’s craving when we choose to eat healthy rather than indulge in greasy food). It talks about how cheating is not always a bad thing if we cheat to prioritize as God intended us to – and Stanley addresses that when it comes to the choice of family and work, we tend to cheat family and choose work when, in fact, it should be the other way around.  This book was an easy read and really interesting.

The 3 Big Questions for a Frantic Family: A Leadership Fable about Restoring Sanity to the Most Important Organization of your Life by Patrick M. Lencioni: This book is INCREDIBLE for any type of family, I think.  It gives a very good story of a frantic family that I think anyone can relate to, and within the story a simple system (3 questions) is created to help families find direction and goals and to understand what is important to them so that they are able to make decisions rather than trying to follow what everyone else is doing.  Another easy read, and I love how simple they made the “process” of finding sanity in your family.

And here is what I am reading now:

Desiring God by John Piper: I picked up this book a long time ago at Mike’s the first time we ever hung out.  I borrowed it and never made it through the first chapter.  After hearing it mentioned recently, I decided to plunge back in to this book discussing finding joy in God.  It’s neat because I’ve just had a revelation that I can’t expect to do anything “good” like the bible commands unless I am first in love with God, which means I’ve changed my approach… instead of focusing on being good, I focus on loving God.  The good does flow more naturally, but the focus is God: being satisfied in His love for me and growing to love Him more.   Which is why opening this book now was so neat; the foundational truth of it being that “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him”.

Love and Respect by Emerson Eggerichs: A book highly recommended to a range of people: from engaged couples to people who have suffered from divorce, and everyone in between.  I like reading books like these, because it keeps me aware of my marriage, though still young, so that I can consciously strive to be a wife that loves Mike, respects him, and follows him in seeking God – “acknowledging (knowing intimately) Him in all our ways”.

More than a Carpenter by Josh Mcdowell: Coordinating the Starting Point ministry gives me a chance to hear about all kinds of books analyzing the existence of God and the validity of Christ – what He taught and who He claimed to be.  I actually knew about this book but saw it on my parents’ shelf at home and decided then to borrow and read it (I’ll get it back to you soon, Mom and Dad).  Mcdowell presents evidence supporting the existence of God and the validity of Christ’s claims.  Intriguing to my questioning side… it’s something to process.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling: I love my fiction.  And I love Harry Potter… I have read this series 1-3 times a year since I was 13 years old.  That is, read the books of the series that were finished.  And in July, I began the series over, this time with the intention of reading all seven straight through.  Yay!  I began on my family vacation to Myrtle beach, was on book 3 by my honeymoon, and have finally hit book 6.  Harry and Dumbledore have just discussed Horcruxes.  It’s getting intense.

So, these books are the current objects of my attention during my favorite past-time these days.

