This morning I woke up at 5:44.  My alarm was set for 5:45, but our power went out and I think the lack of a fan woke Mike up at 5:44. His rustling then woke me.

I think that one minute’s loss of sleep ruined me – even though it should have been a good thing, seeing as how I could have otherwise overslept without the function of my electricity-dependent alarm.

Yes, it ruined me.  I’ll share the resulting thought process for this morning:

– It’s too early. I don’t want to go to Starting Point.
– It’s raining and I have to go to work instead of being allowed to fall back asleep.
– I got ready too slow… now I can’t do the work I was planning on getting done this morning before heading to the church; that work which should have been done last night but was put off instead.
– I have the hiccups. Rats.
– No power = no tea, no toasted bagel. Double rats.
– Mike ran out in the rain to get a big umbrella from the car and bring it back to me. Why didn’t he just get in the car and drive up front and pick me up, so I wouldn’t have to walk through much rain at all?
– Mike is not going the way I want him to go to get to the church. And all my aforementioned thoughts make it evident that this day is doomed. blah.
– We are late for Starting Point.
– I cannot stay awake or focus in Starting Point.
– Starting Point done, only the entire rest of this day to go.
– Mike is trying to make me smile. grrr.
– Mike is trying to understand how I feel. grrrrrrr.
– Mike listened to me and has actually responded in a way that makes sense. Fine.
– Mike is now dancing to try to make me smile.
– Mike’s dancing is sort of funny.
– Okay, really funny.
– Really, does he know how silly he is?
– Laughing is almost as nice as going back to sleep, which is what I desperately wanted to do.

And there you have it. All that and a kiss goodbye, and there is hope left for the day. Thanks to an incredible husband who managed to dominate one minute of lost sleep, which, apparently, can be quite a feat.

