It’s Friday, the first September Friday.  I’m impressed that the first four days of September have already brought us crisper mornings, overcast skies, and a growing desire to sit in a coffee shop with a scarf, a cup of tea, and a good book.  I feel guilty for wanting more summer, as fall has done nothing to deserve my distaste.  Simply put, it’s the season before winter and therefore carries a sense of foreboding with it.  However, my goal is to put every season in its place, and to therefore do nothing more than enjoy this one for what it offers.

I do hope that this fall weather will renew my energy and get me back into the groove of waking up early and spending time reading, journaling, and praying.  I don’t like “forced” quiet times because they too quickly feel more like homework than devotion to me, but consistency also works wonders and so when I fall out of habit, I seem to lose myself.  I’ve picked up a few books I’m interested in reading, but the 90-day bible reading must hold my attention for now, and I am, yet again, 3 days – that is, 36 pages – behind.  I am so glad to be reading the entire thing and this schedule really pushes me to get it done, but I’ll be glad when it’s over so I can return to quality reading rather than quantity reading.  I can’t wait to go back through different books – especially the old testament – and study them more in-depth.  For now, though, I press on.

And though I probably should cut out a chunk of time to catch up on my reading, I’ll be spending this fall day cleaning house, doing laundry, and grocery shopping with Mike.  I have more on my neverending to-do list, but I have a feeling it will have to wait.  We have a wedding, a friend coming in from out of town, and an extra day off to enjoy this weekend.  So today, we’ll just see what happens.

